A Beginners Guide to Astrology: About – Part 1

Kelli Fox

Anyone can gain greater personal understanding with astrology since it affects our lives just as the moon influences the tides. Astrology provides you tools that can help you make the best and most informed decisions. It is like a map for your soul that provides you with insights into the future, and reveals the tendencies, quirks, and truth about human nature, relationships, career choices and the world at large. Astrology may be used as a guide for daily living, as well as for forecasting and predictions.

Astrology is a complex system that dates back to the third Millennium B.C. It is based on celestial observations and correlating events. Astrology helped lay the foundation for the development of astronomy. It has influenced belief systems and even entire cultures. The many components of astrology, such as signs, planets and aspects, are what make it a complex system. It can be rather confusing until you begin to understand the basics. The many components are considered when forming accurate readings of astrological transitions and how they relate to each individual. The more you learn, the better you'll be able to apply astrology's wisdom to your own life.

For starters, your birth chart is created for the precise moment that you were born. At that time, each planet (Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto), the Sun and the Moon were in measurable positions in the sky that is unique to your individual birth chart. Your birth chart reveals important insights about your personality, career choices, romantic potential, and much more.

The position of each planet in the twelve signs of the Zodiac reveals to astrologers the tone of each planet's specific energy, and the effect of that placement in your chart. The ways in which planets interact with each other also reveal important influences. With a little help from the Zodiac, you can gain insight into your individual astrological characteristics and influences. For example, if you have a lot of Sagittarius in your birth chart, you'll know that you are an outspoken trailblazer that needs a lot of freedom. However, if you have a lot of Cancer in your birth chart, you may be intuitive and shy, and can also be talkative and family oriented.

There are twelve Houses that correlate with the twelve Signs. Each Sign and House is ruled by a planet, the Sun, or the Moon. For instance, Libra is the second sign which is ruled by Venus, and Venus also rules the second House. The Signs represent the individual qualities and characteristics of a person, while Houses represent the qualities and characteristics of the environment in which a planet resides, transits or aspects. More specific information regarding the interaction between Signs, Houses and planets will be discussed in an upcoming article.

The Zodiac is further divided into groupings of the four natural elements (Fire, Earth, Air and Water). Each of the signs in the groupings share basic characteristics. Fire Signs (Aries, Leo or Sagittarius) are essentially warmhearted, independent thinkers. Earth signs (Taurus, Virgo or Capricorn) are practical and down-to-earth. Air Signs (Gemini, Libra or Aquarius) are cerebral and expressive, and Water signs (Cancer, Scorpio or Pisces) are intuitive and nurturing.

The Fire Signs of the Zodiac are Aries, Leo and Sagittarius. They tend to outshine the other Signs, and often burn the candle at both ends. They are constantly on the go, and enjoy a fast-paced life. Though the Fire Signs are warmhearted, they can be a bit hot-headed, too! They often live on the edge, however, a strong-willed Aries, for example, with a lot of intensity and impulsivity can become self-destructive. Fire Signs are also inspirational, and know how to motivate and lead others.

The Fire Signs are always exciting and interesting companions, and they tend to gravitate toward fellow fire signs. They enjoy new experiences and adventures, such as parachuting, salsa-dancing and traveling. They are attracted to high-energy jobs that appeal to their leadership abilities, such as a coaching, CEO of a large company, or anything entrepreneurial.

The Earth Signs of the Zodiac are Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn. They are solid as a rock and carefully build strong foundations for themselves and their families. They are the dependable, emotionally balanced strong shoulder that supports those closest to them. Unlike the Fire signs, they prefer tradition and routine. They are steadfast workers that prefer not to deviate too far from the norm. Earth Signs weigh out decisions in a very calculated way, and may even be pleasantly predictable.

The Earth Signs, especially Taurus, enjoy luxuries, and remain extremely pragmatic and sensible. They are easy-going and make stable companions that will always offer up a bit of pragmatism. They do best in structured environments where they know what is expected of them, and exactly what they need to do to succeed. They are ambitious and productive and can be counted on to have a plan. They make good accountants, computer technicians and building contractors.

The Air Signs of the Zodiac are Gemini, Libra and Aquarius. They are the lighthearted thinkers of the Zodiac who like to work with intangibles, such as intellect and communication. They are witty, expressive and as changeable as the air. Don’t expect them to adhere to a strict routine or plan. An unpredictable, fast-moving Air Sign like Gemini can move rather sudden, and can be quite indecisive as they contemplate their mercurial thoughts. They may appear flaky or unstable, but it’s just that they can’t be pinned, or bogged down.

You can count on the Air Signs to be charming and fun, and they are often the life of every party. Since they tend to over-intellectualize their emotions, and need a lot of time and room to process them, they may come across as detached or aloof. Air Signs gravitate toward communicative professions that engage their intellect such as writing, teaching, or programming computers.

The Water Signs of the Zodiac are Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces. Their emotional depths are like deep, still water. They are intuitive, sensitive to others, and are tuned in to their surrounding environment. They are fluid by nature, and often go with the flow. They feel every wave of the undercurrent, but they can be become hypersensitive and retreat, like a Cancer Crab, into its shell. Once they recover from their initial shyness, they reveal their acute perceptivity and creativity, which just flows out of them seemingly effortless.

Water Signs are sentimental, romantic and connect with others on a deep level. They are the source that brings people together, and often provides ways for others to make sense of their world. Water Signs enjoy helping and nurturing others, which make them good therapists, social workers and caregivers.

Besides the four elements, there are also three qualities (Cardinal, Fixed and Mutable) that influence the Signs. These qualities provide clues about a person’s general attitude, perspective, and the way that they are likely to engage with their world. The three qualities will be discussed more thoroughly in an upcoming article.
Once you learn the basic principles of astrology, it becomes an invaluable tool that can enrich your life. It provides insights that can help guide you in making life choices - big and small.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Summera on January 23, 2019 at 6:42 pm

    invaluable, interesting!

The Astrologer

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This