Kelli Fox

When you hear the word ‘planets,’ you probably think of the Solar System — as in, My Very Eager Mother Just Served Us Nine Pizzas. Ever heard that one? It’s a mnemonic device used to memorize the order of the planets; Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto.

But in astrology, the planets in our birth chart include more than just those nine — including celestial bodies that we don’t normally think of as planets, such as the Sun and the Moon.

The planets were in a certain, distinctive pattern in the sky at the exact moment that you were born, and a map of their configuration is called your natal chart, or birth chart. Each planet represents something in itself — your personality (Sun), the way you think (Mercury), the way you love (Venus) and so on — but together, the angles and connections among all of them also paint a highly specific and accurate portrait of who you are as an individual.

Some people like to claim that astrology doesn’t work — that it provides only generic information that could be applied to anyone. But take a look at a reading of your birth chart, and you’ll find out just how specific the information gets! You’ll be amazed by the picture of you that astrology paints, including in-depth analysis of your emotional life, your dreams and motivations and your subconscious drives.

Suggested reading:

Mythic Astrology: Internalizing the Planetary Powers by Ariel Guttman and Kenneth Johnson

The Inner Planets: Building Blocks of Personal Reality (Seminars in Psychological Astrology) by Liz Greene


Learn more about the planets with ‘National Geographic

The Astrologer

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This